Special

Co Advent’s Lament: A Blue Christmas Worship Gathering
December 9, 2020. 4.30 p.m. PT, 7:30 p.m. ET, 9:00 p.m. NT

Christmas can often be a difficult time for many of us. Usually, the world is in a grand celebratory mode, and doesn’t make much space for people who are grieving, or are feeling sadness, anxiety, frustration, or loss.

Many communities of faith gather for a time of worship “when Christmas doesn’t feel like Christmas.” This year, in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic, many of these feelings are stronger, and many more people are struggling with Christmas. As we mark one year of changed life because of COVID-19, we would like to offer a denominational-wide service of Lament for Advent. (If you’ve got one, you might want to bring a candle – battery or match operated – for this time of prayer, reflection, and song.)

More details will be posted soon on United in Learning.  There will be no need to pre-register for this event. To access the simultaneous translation you must be connected by Zoom; otherwise, you can watch the bilingual version on the United Church’s YouTube channel.